View Full Version : Bite of winter and blasts
05-02-2011, 02:28 PM
So bite of winter "Models with Frozen Heart inflict +1Dg on targets without Armor"
so if you have a blast happen from Raspy do you get the +1 on the blasts or not because it doesn't target. I really don't know cause you do have a target to start I know he gets hurt more.
05-02-2011, 03:27 PM
I think only the initial target takes the +1 damage, sort of like how a Red Joker would only increase damage on the initial target. Don't quote me on that though....
Did you try searching the rules forum? Seems to me this has been discussed before, but I know searching can sometimes be difficult if you don't use the right keywords or such.
05-02-2011, 04:12 PM
Ya I did try to look and I know it doesn't work on like shatter or pulses and aura's so I am going to play that it doesn't boost it for now but I truthfully have no clue.
05-02-2011, 04:13 PM
We've always played it that it adds.
It's adding damage, which is what blasts inflict. It's not an "additional effect", so there's nothing in the blast rules to exclude it.
I couldn't find anything to back that up specifically, but I do think it's consistent within the rules.
Edit: Whoops, your post answered it for me, and I was wrong :)
Models hit by blast markers are not targets, and so wouldn't get the bonus. Not sure if the wording on that changed at some point or we were just always playing it wrong, but THAT should be it.
05-02-2011, 04:23 PM
Ya I will always play on the side of caution until I know the right answer. I know someone will get to the question in due time but I think the "target" in the wording will make it not happen I don't know how I feel about it but I at least want to know.
I do fear the bear I hope he is nice this time.
05-02-2011, 04:25 PM
Well, I think it's because the Blast is an effect of the weapon hitting the initial target. And I think you're right, that the keyword of 'target' in this case is what makes the difference.
05-02-2011, 04:42 PM
Don't remember if there's been an official ruling on the matter, but last time I recall it was brought up the consensus was that since it says 'target' it won't apply to the blast damage.
05-02-2011, 05:42 PM
The Initial Target is the only one would suffer the +1 damage, much like the Red Joker only affects the initial target.
05-02-2011, 07:53 PM
Correct. It inflicts +1 Damage on the target only.
05-02-2011, 08:11 PM
Thank you Kel, thought as much after my reading but I played it wrong at first.
05-02-2011, 08:13 PM
No worries, worth checking on. :)
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.8 Copyright © 2013 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.