View Full Version : Shapechange with placed models
04-14-2011, 01:50 PM
Shapechange(Transform into a non-unique beast with a soulstone cost of 8 or less)
Placed Models Page 9 "This Model is placed into play and does not have a soulstone cost"
My question is
Does this mean you can shapechange into a placed model because no soulstone cost is less then 8.
Does this mean you can't shapechange into a placed model because you need a soulstone cost to shape into that beast.
Point of reference I am doing this for rules as written not as rules as intended or rules on how I would play them. I just wanted to see what the truth is.
04-14-2011, 02:30 PM
as i read it i would say you couldnt shapechange into a placed model as they have a no cost(or P if u want to look at it that way) which isnt lower then 8 as its not in the numberscale at all if they had a cost of 0 then i could see it.
04-14-2011, 02:54 PM
Just to be clear the reference on Page 9 is for models with a PRINTED Soulstone Cost of "P", not models with a printed Soulstone Cost that were Placed by some other means during the Encounter.
If that's the question, then yes, a Beast with a printed cost of P (Placed) could be shapechanged into.
04-14-2011, 03:06 PM
Ok so here is what I was thinking.
You brink 2 coryphree and have them combine into the duet, the duet has a printed cost of P but it contains 2 7ss models. Then with the raptor you can turn it into a beast for the game.
Would this be legit. I was just bored at work and my brain started thinking.
Then with Myranda could you shapechange into the duet because they are now a beast and have a printed soulstone cost of placed.
(Edit) I understand this is not the rules as intended and I doubt I would ever do it but I would rather give you guys a heads up if you want to change anything.
04-14-2011, 03:17 PM
It would not be legit.
Shapechange is only usable when turning into a non-unique Beast that is NOT already on the table.
04-14-2011, 03:29 PM
Thank you WEiRD, I will keep that in mind but the only thing is that Shapechange the v2 card says nothing about Not already on the table. If that is how it play cool thank you for the information going forward.
I thought the only thing in my way was the SS cost.
And so I get what your ruling is saying is that if I had a Sabertooth cerberus on the table I could not shapechange into a sabertooth.
04-14-2011, 03:32 PM
It also doesn't have a target.
Is a Coryphee Duet a Beast? No.
The only Coryphee Duet that is a beast is already on the table.
04-14-2011, 04:23 PM
Got it now it has to have always been a beast. Thank you very much you guys do a great job.
04-14-2011, 04:36 PM
I am now SERIOUSLY considering sending Weird a small thank you note!
04-14-2011, 07:34 PM
Sketch prefers cookies. ;)
04-14-2011, 08:07 PM
I could send him a postcard of cookies!
Actually, it looks like I'll be in Atlanta for Jordan Con tomorrow.
Chips Ahoy okay Sketch??
04-14-2011, 10:05 PM
Doesn't that kinda...oh idk...Limit what she can do? Like for Example, you wanted to change into a Sabertooth Cerberus but you had one on the board then you can't? Or am I just reading this wrong?
04-14-2011, 10:32 PM
Ya from what I got during the clarification you only get to change into something that is always a beast not something you make into a beast.
Thats what I got.
04-14-2011, 11:54 PM
Right. You're not turning her into that specific Beast in play (the Sabertooth, for example), you're turning her into a Sabertooth. She isn't copying anything in play. She's turning into a Beast (from the pool of Beasts in the Faction lists) that has the Beast characteristic already built in.
She's not changing into a copy of something in play.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.8 Copyright © 2013 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.