View Full Version : Spirits & impassable terrain
04-14-2011, 10:40 AM
Hey guys, here's a situation that is getting a bit of a turn off for players at my LGS. A guy came to me yesterday and asked me about this so I decided to post here with hope to get an official answer before more new players at my lgs turns to other games after facing spirit players.
In the spirit description (rulebook p.10) it is stated that they can move over (not through) and stop on (not in) impassable terrain.
Spirit players at my lgs actually stop IN impassable terrain (i.e.: a huge rock, determined as impassable terrain, sheltered Kirai's spirit form, protecting her for the rest of the game).
The correct wording is ON impassable terrain, not IN. What's the official ruling on this ?
04-14-2011, 10:49 AM
The full thread has some interesting discussion, but this should fix the issue for you:
04-15-2011, 05:00 AM
And don't forget about house rules, always good for stopping annoying local s strategies
04-15-2011, 05:21 AM
Generally it should be played that you can move through impassible terrain but not end your turn in it if you can avoid it. Certain things like trying to break away from combat might end up with you in impassible terrain, as the test for breaking away comes just before LOS is broken so it can leave your stuck in a wall..
04-15-2011, 04:27 PM
From the Spirits disengaging thread:
Spirits can still move through terrain. The term 'over' in the rules indicates 'over' the terrain base (all terrain has bases now, remember?), rather than them 'hopping over the wall'. There is no movement penalty for them moving over (through in your reading) wallls, etc.
Spirits can stop their movement 'on' impassible terrain (i.e. they can hover over the pit of nasty broken glass unlike other models. Spirits cannot, however, end their movement so they are sitting 'within' something with the impassible trait. They cannot hide themselves in hills, etc.
04-15-2011, 05:34 PM
adding to this question.
What about impassible breakable terrain? Such as crates/barrels/etc. Could a spirit hide inside something labeled as that. In effect breaking LOS to it but its possible to 'find' the spirit by bustin open the crate.
04-15-2011, 06:04 PM
Breakable impassable terrain is still breakable impassable terrain, so the restriction on stopping inside it would still apply.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.8 Copyright © 2013 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.